Dementia and Congregational Care

 

Dementia and Congregational Care

A webinar from Church of the Brethren Discipleship Ministries and Anabaptist Disabilities Network


Dementia affects individuals, their family members and the congregation. Many times, we want to offer support but we do not know where to start. We often back off because we don’t want to do the wrong thing. This webinar will help you understand basics of dementia and learn how to reach out. We will offer communication tips and practical ways to stay connected. We can maintain relationships by offering reassurance, encouragement and acceptance. When we include our members with dementia and their families, the whole congregation benefits.  


This webinar will be led by Heddie Sumner, RN, BSN. Heddie served as Care Manager and Dir. of Dementia Services, and Dir. of Resources and Development for the Midland County Council on Aging in Michigan. She is co-author of A Family Centered Alzheimer’s Care - A Caregiver’s Manual and Doing More with Less: Michigan Dementia Coalition.  She provides trainings on dementia for staff of adult care facilities and church leadership. 

Co-hosted by Church of the Brethren Discipleship Ministries and Anabaptist Disabilities Network. 0.1 CEUs available. 

Thursday, June 16, 1 pm ET, noon CT, 10 am PT